How Do I Know What Foods Contain Gluten?

August 27, 2012 | Author: | Posted in Food & Drinks

. To find out what food items contain gluten it is important to read food labels. Items change frequently check the label carefully before purchasing. Contact the manufacturer if a lot of ingredients is needed.
. Oats don’t naturally contain gluten free, however they are often contaminated together with wheat or other grain and may need to be averted.
. Avoid products with the following ingredients on the content label:
o Wheat*: includes products made or processed with flour; various parts from the wheat kernel (including the germ, bran and endosperm [starch]); and also grain species produced from prohibited grains (as an example: triticale is a hybrid regarding wheat and rye).
o Barley: includes all parts in the barley grain and products produced from barley (such as malt flavorings, brown rice syrup, brewer’s thrush and beer).
o Rye: includes all parts from the rye grain, usually seen in our food supply while rye flour and rye bread. In contrast to wheat and barley, rye is normally not used as being a food additive.
o Oats: includes all products containing oats (including oat flour, oat bran and also oat gums). There are causes of uncontaminated oats available; talk with your dietitian or gastroenterologist about how to bring in oats safely.

Common Processed Foods Containing Wheat, Barley or Rye:

Bouillon cubes, Sweetening, Candy, Cold slashes, hot dogs, sausages, salami French fries,
Matzo, Veteran rice mixes, Soya sauce and marinades, Experienced tortilla/potato chips, Self-basting turkey, Cereal and soup angles, Trail mixes, Panko (Western bread crumbs)
Gravies and also sauces Imitation sea food and imitation cash Malted Products Cereals (such as rice and scented soy varieties) Energy bars and supplements

Miscellaneous Ingredients on Foodstuff Labels*:
Wheat starch Seasonings Emulsifiers Stabilizers Starch Caramel Coloring
Flavoured beverages
Natural along with artificial flavorings Hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP) Textured veg proteins (TVP) Hydrolyzed plant protein (HPP) Cereal Extracts
Dextrins
*As regarding January 1st, 2006: food products manufactured along with wheat should be listed in an allergy statement below the ingredients on the tag or in parentheses following the name of the ingredient. If you suspect that the label isn’t up-to-date call the company to verify that the item won’t contain wheat. A lot more doubt, do not try to eat it. Barley, rye and oatmeal are not covered by this law.

Example(s) from the wheat allergy assertion:
A few things to consider:
1. Any flavorings, regardless how small, are susceptible to the wheat please note. Though unlikely, seasonings may be made with malt spices (which is not covered by the wheat or grain disclaimer because it is made out of barley).
2. Caramel coloring along with dextrins are not typically produced from wheat, but need to now contain a whole wheat disclaimer if they are made using the grain.
3. Many products containing food made of starch (if made in United states) are likely made from corn. Modified food starchy foods, though unlikely, may be made from barley (which is not covered by the labeling law).
4. When in doubt contact the product’s manufacturer. There were cases in which companies have not yet transformed food labels.

For more information about gluten free please visit the website.

Author:

This author has published 39 articles so far. More info about the author is coming soon.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

This site is protected by Comment SPAM Wiper.